Candidate Information

March 5, 2024 Municipal Election Candidates

Candidate Name Ballot Designation Qualified For Ballot Candidate Documents
Emmett G. Badar Mayor/Incumbent 11/28/2023
Notice of Appointment

District 1
Eric Weber Councilmember/Police Detective 11/21/2023
Disclosure Filings

Form 700

James P. Shirley San Dimas Planning Commissioner 12/6/2023
Disclosure Filings

Form 700

District 3
Rachel Bratakos Small Business Owner 12/5/2023
Disclosure Filings

Form 700

Julia Panasiti Business Person 12/7/2023
Disclosure Filings

Form 700

Candidate Forms

Candidates must obtain and complete the official nomination documents that are issued by the Office of the City Clerk. This is done during the official nomination period. (November-December of an election year). For a special election, the nomination period will vary depending on the date of the Special Election. Please contact the City Clerk for more information. Nomination forms are issued at no charge.

Office hours are Monday thru Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. except for City Holidays. A candidate should be prepared to provide their name and residential address for current voter registration and eligibility status. 

Candidate Instructional Guide

The nomination instructions are entirely contained in the Candidate Instructional Guide (Please note this guide will be updated before each election). This information is provided to assist candidates in understanding the requirements necessary to run for municipal office. The manual is provided as a guide and should not be substituted for legal, accounting or other professional services. Samples in this manual are not official forms and are provided for illustrative purposes only. Official forms are available from the City Clerk only.

The filing schedule for financial reporting requirements will be posted at the beginning of the nomination period.

Individuals interested in running for office are encouraged to attend a candidate forum hosted by the San Dimas Chamber Commerce and facilitated by the League of Women Voters. Candidate forums are open to the public.

Councilmembers are elected by-district and serve four-year terms, the Mayor is elected at large and serves two year terms. The City of San Dimas does not have term limits. The term expirations for Councilmembers are staggered so that only half of the offices expire at a time.