Public Safety Commission

Generally meets on the third Tuesday evening of every odd-numbered month at 5:30 P.M. (unless otherwise announced and publicly noticed) in the City Council Chambers Conference Room San Dimas City Hall at 245 East Bonita Avenue.

The Public Safety Commission is composed of five members appointed by the City Council and two members of the San Dimas Sheriff's Station Community Advisory Board. Service on this Commission is voluntary. 

Each member will be appointed to a two-year term. Commissioners cannot concurrently serve on two or more commissions. After term expiration, Commissioners must wait one year before eligible for service on the same Commission. 


  • To learn more of the City's public safety services by attending informative commission meetings.
  • To advise the City Council on matters relating to law enforcement including but not limited to, policing, crime prevention , fire suppression, emergency medical response, fire prevention and emergency services.
  • To represent the views of the citizenry relating to public safety plans, programs, and future needs.
  • To consult with professional staff in the development of public safety programs.
  • To enlist community interest in, and support for, the City’s law enforcement programs.
  • To work with citizens, elected and appointed officials, and professional staff to support the work of public safety personnel.

Desirable Qualifications

  • Willingness to attend informative commission meetings to learn about the public safety services as they affect the welfare of the people of San Dimas.
  • Ability to interpret law enforcement services to the community, and to interpret the community to professional law enforcement personnel.
  • Ability to develop and maintain harmonious working relationships with other committee members, the City Council, the Sheriff’s Department, the public, the school district, service organizations and other community groups.
  • Willingness to attend committee meetings. Three unexcused absences in one year may result in dismissal from the Commission.

Public Safety Commissioners

Commissioners Serve Three 2-year Terms

Larry Giannone, Chair
Appointed: 07/17, 07/19,07/21
Term Expires: 07/23
Albert Behr
Appointed: 03/18, 11/20
Term Expires: 11/22
Morgan Kostolefsky
Appointed: 07/17, 07/19, 07/21
Term Expires: 07/23

Robert Olander II, Vice Chair
Appointed: 07/17, 07/19,07/21
Term Expires: 07/23
Timothy Hughes
Appointed: 07/19, 07/21
Term Expires: 07/23
Patrick Jones, CAB Appointee
Appointed: 2021

Edward Rodriguez
Appointed: 07/19, 07/21
Term Expires: 07/23
Karol Curtis, CAB Appointee
Appointed: 1998

*Contact Commissioners Council Representative Staff Liaison

San Dimas Public Safety Commission
c/o Administration Department
245 E. Bonita Avenue
San Dimas, CA  91773
(909) 394-6210

Email the Public Safety Commission


Ryan A.Vienna, Councilmember


Chris Constantin, City Manager

*Email communications to Commissioners are considered to be public documents and subject to disclosure.

Agendas and Minutes