Select Page

City Council

City Council

The San Dimas City Council is composed of the Mayor and four City Council Members elected at large. The Council acts as the local legislative body for the establishment of local laws, the establishment of policy, and the approval of programs. Council Members serve four-year terms, while the Mayor serves a two-year term.

The Ralph M. Brown Act consists of state laws which govern public meetings. The City of San Dimas City Council and other elected officials are affected by these laws. Committees and Commissions created by these bodies, for example, the Planning Commission, Traffic Safety Committee, Parks & Recreation Commission, etc., also fall under the guidelines of the Brown Act.

The Brown Act guarantees the public’s right to attend and participate in meetings of local government. All meetings of the City of San Dimas City Council, Commissions and Committees are conducted using Brown Act guidelines.

E-mail communications to elected officials are considered to be public documents and subject to disclosure.

Council Meetings

Regularly scheduled City Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at San Dimas City Hall, 245 East Bonita Avenue.